A Week of Winning

Best week yet! Met with my doctor about my latest blood results and after 5 months of crossfit and one month of paleo… I’M NORMAL!!! Everything except for one thing was completely in the normal range, and that one thing was lower and just about normal. 🙂 I’ve gone from knocking on the door of diabetes to not even being in neighborhood. Amazing!!! 

It’s so refreshing to find an Endo who loves Crossfit, encourages Paleo, and isn’t pushing meds, meds, meds! She’s taken me off another med so I’m down to ONE med! Best part… NO MORE SHOTS!!! For the first time in seven years… SEVEN YEARS, I don’t have to give myself a shot every morning. It’s WONDERFUL! 

I celebrated with the Hubs by going out for a Paleo lunch and bought myself a pair of Converse All-Stars at Marshall’s. Yesterday was a good day!

I feel great. I really do. I have energy. I’m not depressed. I’m not a strung out anxious mess trying to run after five kids. Life is pretty darn good these days. Life is GREAT, actually… great! 

There’s more Winning… 

While I was at Marshall’s, I did the unthinkable… decided to try on the next size down jeans while I was still in a good mood, knowing that if they didn’t fit, I was going to be soooooo disappointed and down. I picked two pairs of 18’s, both with a little give in the waist (I’m an Apple shape) and headed to the dressing room. My Hubs was just shaking his head. He’s been down this road before. 

This time, it was different! I came out smiling. They both FIT!!! That means that I’ve now dropped down another size (two total sizes down) and there were no tears, no sadness, just excitement that not only did they fit, they fit comfortably!!! I was half tempted to get a size 16 just to see how far away I am, but I didn’t want to push my luck. 

And I’m still hanging in at 15 pounds lost since I started. Every single person I meet in Crossfit tells me to throw away the scale. I’m kinda thick sometimes, but I’m beginning to think they might be right. I’ve now dropped two jeans sizes, the second without the scale changing one pound! 

I finished the evening by heading down to the basement and pulling out the “saved” clothes… you know the ones… the ones you hope to one day get back into. I was able to “save” three pairs of capri pants (2 size 18 and one size 20), two with the tags still on them. The third is actually a little too loose. lol! Guess I should have gone down there a little sooner. 

Wednesday, at the gym, I noticed something after the workout. I wasn’t dead. There were box jumps, and I’m still at the 12 inch box… and for the first time after a box jump workout, I wasn’t totally wiped out. I think it means I need to start adding plates and working my way up to that 20 inch box. Most of my weights are now “athlete” level, which I find hysterical, but my poor little box jump is kids’ size. Time to get cracking on getting up to the big girl box! 

One final “Winning” this week… doing front squats during today’s workout, I was FINALLY able to do a fingertip grip and get the bar to rest on my body instead of just my hands. It’s a mobility issue that I’ve been working on… and today, it happened!!! Maybe the bar was just the right weight (75#), maybe it’s my new, flatter shoes, maybe it’s my adorable pink custom-made wrist wraps… or maybe all of the above… but for the first time I was able to get the bar in the right spot and oh did it feel good! Suddenly 75# felt more like 55# and it became so much easier. I can’t wait to see if I can make this happen again!!!

I’ve also been drinking green smoothies every day… spinach, kale, bok choy, celery… different greens every day… and some apple and fruit to sweeten it… ginger and lemon to boost my immune system. I do have more energy and I can feel the difference. I bought some protein powder to throw in there as well. 

I still fight against wanting things to be perfect instantaneously (size 12 NOW please!). I still fight against wrecking my healthy eating or sabotaging myself. I still fight to not define myself by the numbers on the scale. I still have to fight to convince myself that I can do Crossfit and that I can lift heavy weights. Staring at the bar before every workout is still anxiety provoking and filled with fear that this time, I won’t be able to do it. My friends believe in me and it really helps me believe in myself. 

It’s been a really good week!!!

2 thoughts on “A Week of Winning

  1. Nice job! I don’t COMPLETELY buy the “throw away the scale” mentality, but I do agree that it doesn’t always give you a good snapshot of your real fitness. Your fitness is better measured by your benchmark WOD times, the inches around your waist, and your general energy/attitude/day-to-day stuff. But, I do like to keep the scale handy for periodic check-ins, because it is a part of the equation. Just not the most important part 😉

    Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

