Happy Six Month Crossfit-versary!!!

I can’t believe it’s been SIX MONTHS! :faint: I’ve never done anything in my entire life for six whole months. I’m still just as excited about Crossfit now as I was in the beginning, which amazes me. I love Olympic Lifting and the cardio portion generally involves weights. I can’t think of a more perfect combination for me! I’m hooked!!!

Being a Mom, a stay-at-home Mom of five, means I’m usually the bottom of the totem pole. It’s the job. The needs of your kids come first. When my last two babies went to Kindergarten this past Fall (yep, twins!), I decided the time was finally right to put myself first a bit. It was a very strange feeling. First and foremost on my list was to find a Crossfit box. I’d had my eye on a box for several months, but the timing, and the money, just wasn’t right. It took a few months, but I attended the beginners seminars in October and had my very first Crossfit class November 5th.

Honestly, I was TERRIFIED to walk into that Crossfit box… TERRIFIED to walk into that first real class. It might be one of the hardest things I’ve ever done…. a very fat, overweight woman walking into a class full of fit and healthy hard core crossfitters. I did it! I still don’t know how I did it. I just know I wanted to be there so badly that I would have done nearly anything. The people were great! They were friendly, kind, encouraging, and all around awesome! Within 3 weeks people were treating me like I was part of the group, which amazed me since they were all healthy and fit. It was like that old Sesame Street song, “Which one of these things is not like the other?” lol! In the past I’ve gone to the same yoga class for an entire year and I still didn’t say more than a few words to the people around me. My box friends included me from the beginning, encouraged me when I felt like I was making no progress, and celebrated with me when I hit new successes. It feels like we are all connected and that connection is a big part of my success!

Success??? YES… I’m going to call my first six months in Crossfit a HUGE Success! The eating disordered part of my brain immediately screams that I have so much more to go and that I’m still fat… well, yes. I do still have far to go and I am still fat… but that doesn’t negate my first six months as a HUGE SUCCESS!!!

18 pounds
2 jeans sizes
5 inches on my bra strap
7.5 inches on my waist

I’ve also been 80%-ish Paleo for the last two months. Who knows how many pounds of muscle I’ve gained… but it must be a whole heck of a lot because I’m lifting 100 more pounds now in my back squat and my dead lift. Today, I’m going to try my hardest to shut off the disordered part of my brain and focus on my successes. I really have succeeded! I did it! Sure, I have more to do… but for right now, today, I am succeeding!!! I wonder what life will be like six months from now…. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Happy Six Month Crossfit-versary!!!

Leave a Reply

