Chugging along… literally

Yes… literally. I even make the little chugging sound when I’m out of breath during my short runs. lol! I’m still doing the Couch 25k program on my off days and yesterday was Week 3, Day 1. I was too scared to do it outside, because it’s always harder for me outside. Instead, I feel like I chickened out and did it on a treadmill at the Hub’s gym. However, I’m trying not to lose sight of the fact that I DID IT! 🙂 Treadmill or not, I’ve never run 3 minutes in a row, ever, let alone twice. If you’re not familiar with the program, Week 3 consists of a 5 minute warmup, 90 second run, 90 second walk, 3 minute run, 3 minute walk, 90 second run, 90 second walk, 3 minute run, 5 minute cool down. The other reason why I’m not sure it counts is my speed. I ran it at 3.8. That’s awfully slow. I don’t have access to a treadmill tomorrow, so I’ll have to do it outside, assuming I can find some time between rain storms. If not… Sunday… but I’d rather do it tomorrow. 

Crossfit is going well. Today was especially fun. It started out with bench presses, which I love. The Wod was push presses and box jumps, also favorites of mine. 30-20-10 with the push presses at 75# and regular 20-inch box jumps. I’m still excited about box jumps because I can FINALLY do them! I worked my way up from the 12 inch box using plates, and for the second time, I was able to do real box jumps in a Wod… 60 of them! My recovery time is getting better as well. I still need to improve my endurance and my speed, which I’m working on. I just need more time.

I’m leaving for Florida in a few weeks and I’m already concerned about it. We’ll have access to a kitchen, so it’s only the two day trip down and two day trip back that concerns me. Paleo on the road is tricky. The hotel and the time share both have gyms, so I’m looking up crossfit workouts that can be done on the road. I’ve found several that look promising. I just need to make a commitment to myself to get it done. It’s not so easy with 5 kids, three of whom need me with them at the play land or the pool. Historically, taking time for myself has been exceedingly difficult. 

Heck, writing this at this very moment is EXCEEDINGLY difficult. The twins are all over my butt about dinner NOW NOW NOW and fix this toy and look at this and question question question. For all I know, I’ve written a bunch of nonsensical gobbly-gook… but no time to check it. Pretty soon, they’re going to start lobbing toys into my head if they don’t eat soon! 

Happy Friday!!!

One thought on “Chugging along… literally

Leave a Reply

