Leaving for Vacation Today

I’m leaving today for a nearly two week vacation, including four travel days. My schedule has already gotten all messed up, so instead of hitting the gym for some lifting and Fran, I’m loading up the car and leaving a full 12 hours ahead of when I intended. Instead of heading into my vacation strong, I’m heading into it feeling disorganized and weak.

Eating on the road is hard for me. The car is packed… there are seven of us, all of our luggage, and Miss Molly, our beloved doggie. There’s lots of whining and bickering, as you would expect with five kids, each with vastly different personalities, yet all sharing the trait of grumpiness. There will be lots of stops. There will be lots of begging for this snack or that snack. At some point we’ll give in. Gas station snacks are something we plan for… once on the way down and once on the way back. We have lots of water packed but this will be my first trip without gas station coffee… that sugary chemical concoction that I’ve historically relied on for that extra bit of energy to get through the day.

After the travel days, there’s a full day at Disney and then a week at a resort. I’ll have control over many of my meals, which I’m thankful for. There will be a few meals out of my control and I plan on doing the best I can. I will also have access to basic exercise equipment for much of my trip… but it’s always been a problem getting away from the kids and the Hubs to do anything. I might end up doing burpees in my room every day… and anything else I can do… push ups, sit ups, squats… lots of squats. I might have to challenge my teens to a squatting contest to see who can do the most before failure, just to make it fun.

It’s 10:20am, breakfast has been eaten… bacon and eggs… bulletproof coffee is being consumed as I type. There’s a bit of cleaning and packing to do… then we load up the car and head out. I’m a little disoriented because on M/W/F I’m supposed to be at the gym right now. I’m a little sad because today is Fran and I was really looking forward to beating my previous time. I was so scared of Fran for the longest time, now it’s one of my favorites.

So… I’m just rambling… worried about what I’m going to do on vacation and how I’m going to continue to eat well and exercise… hoping like mad that there’s no major setback when I feel like I’ve been doing so well.

There’s also the added stress of visiting family that I haven’t seen in a while. They know I’ve been eating better and doing Crossfit… but I’m sure I don’t look all that much different. Is my stomach smaller…. yes… but is it small enough to meet their expectations. Will they look at me and say, eh, thought you’d be healthier by now? Sigh. I don’t know. I keep telling myself that it doesn’t matter… but a little outside affirmation, that the changes I’m making are showing, is nice.

Okay… bulletproof coffee has been consumed… time to get back to work on this vacation…

Leave a Reply

