Wake Up Call Yesterday

Went to the doctor yesterday. Honestly, I was dreading it. While I had lots of really great things to tell her (new lifts, the competition, the snatch video), I also knew that my bloodwork was taken just a few days after Halloween and I’d blown it. It was as I expected. Nothing was bad, but all of my numbers were a few points in the wrong direction compared to last time. There were tiny slips all over the place. It was very clear that the last three months were not as Paleo as the three months before and it was time to get serious again. It scared me. I don’t want to go back. I don’t want to be the way I was. I don’t want lose my motivation, my committment. I don’t want to be weak again. And let’s face it, my end game is still to be smaller… and I have a long way to go. I can’t afford to go backwards.

Yesterday, I took control again. It was a great day regarding nutrition, and it just happened to be a two workout day, first one ever. Since it worked out that way, I went for it, the Wod in the morning, the Oly gym in the evening. It was fun and I wish I could do that more often… and I’ll admit, my hip flexors are a bit tender this morning. Good news, I did a 5rm backsquat at 100 kilos (220#).

I didn’t really want to write this, but my intention was to be honest about what it’s really like trying to get healthy. Clearly, it’s not a straight road and some parts (exercise) are easier than others (eating). This is where I am right now… struggling with the nutrition and eating part. It seems I’ve been struggling with the nutrition and eating part my whole life. Not giving up yet…

One thought on “Wake Up Call Yesterday

Leave a Reply

