Something New…

Finally… took me over a year to make it to the Olympic Lifting part of my gym. I sneaked over there a time or two, even did the workout, but I kept missing the coach. Finally got to work with him and it was awesome! Worked on my Snatch form… elbows out, shoulders back, arms straight, jump back… and now that’s what I’ve been chanting in my head… every rep. Might have sounded a little crazy today if you stood nearby. Today’s workout was all about snatches so I put my new chanting skills to use and hit a 20# pr… 95#. So exciting!!! I did the workout at the prescribed weight of 65# and my shoulder felt great. Hurt a teeny bit at 95# so I stopped… but I really, really wanted to try for 105! Maybe next time…

Project Smaller Lori is still coming along, as well. I’ve had the occasional cheat meal, though I hate that term and need to come up with something else. “Cheating” bothers me and I need a paradigm shift… maybe Splurge Meal??? Whatever I end up calling it, they have been few and far between. The plan is to get healthy and that means fueling my body with things that are good for it… putting good things in and getting good things out… like new prs and doing the workout at prescribed weights. I try really, really hard not to focus on the scale, lest I become obsessed… dangerous territory for people with eating disorders, like me! However, I’ve been using it as a guide to see how Project Smaller Lori is coming along… and the Heaven’s have been kind this week. I’m doing the work… and it’s showing on the scale… not yet in my clothes or even with the tape measure… but something is happening and I’m finally moving in the right direction now. I’ve been stuck for months and months and months. I hate making weight goals… but I do have a certain number in mind to hit by Christmas. It’s small… 7 pounds left until I meet it… and doable if I stay on track.

So the plan is to continue what I’m doing… and even though I can only spend one evening a week in the Oly gym, by gosh I’m going to make the most of it. It’s new… it’s exciting… it’s fun… really, really FUN!!! 🙂

