If You Don’t Do it Right, It Doesn’t Count

The Wod for today was an ego killer. Four rounds… I was just starting my 3rd round and I looked around to find more than half the people already finished. I knew I was behind and would most likely come in last… but I didn’t realize I was THAT far behind! At the end of my 3rd round, I was sooooo far behind that not only did I think I’d miscounted, but my Coach did also. lol! Nope… sh*t… I was facing down that 4th and final round… there was an out… maybe I *did* miscount… but I didn’t think so.

Here’s the choice… fib and save face… or do it right and come in last… really last… so far last that people have long since finished and have moved on to other things. Do I really count every single jump rope to 150 or could I skip 10… or 20… no one would know…

I would know!

If you don’t do it right, it doesn’t count!

I kept hearing my Coach Friend’s voice in my head: Show Up, Do it Right, Finish It!

And I did… in 19:28 minutes. The average time was probably 12:00.

It would not be a victory had I done anything less than what was prescribed in the WOD. It wouldn’t have counted. I would have known. No only would my workout have been tainted, but my character as well.

WOD:
150 jump ropes
15 push presses (65#)
10 pull-ups (jumping)

I showed up… I did it right… and I finished it!
Victory!!!

5 thoughts on “If You Don’t Do it Right, It Doesn’t Count

  1. I love this šŸ™‚ It’s really the true spirit of CrossFit. I often end up comparing myself to others (and failing!) instead of just doing the best that I possibly can. And that sounds like what you did today. Thanks for sharing.

  2. You will ALWAYS know if you cheat, and you are who counts. high five on the finish. Sidenote: this is how I feel about anything math related. Try and finish, even though I have no idea what an integer is.

  3. I’m so proud of you.

    Also? People doing what they do, and being honest about it – like you – are the people who make it possible for other people to get up there and try it. We all have to start somewhere, and if no one is willing to admit that they’re not the best at something, it closes the door to anyone who’s starting lower and working their way up. It’s so damn inspiring to see someone who keeps coming back, who gets up and keeps going, who just won’t quit or give up on themselves.

Leave a comment